Stillman Bank Awards 2022 Eickman Scholarship To Four Area Students

Stillman Trust & Wealth Management is pleased to announce the winners of the Eickman Scholarship, an annual scholarship awarded to four area high school seniors who are interested in pursuing a career in medicine. The 2022 recipients are: Riley Jarrett, Byron High School; Megan Thompson, Oregon High School; Ella McKinney, Rochelle Township High School; and Grace Pfeiffer, Stillman Valley High School.  Each student received a $2,300 scholarship.

Now in its 27th year, the scholarship fund was established by former Stillman Bank President, William E. Eickman as a way to give back to the Ogle County community. Eickman was always grateful to the people of Ogle County for their support, recognizing that they were the reason for the bank’s success since 1882.

The scholarship is available to high school seniors attending school in Byron, Oregon, Rochelle, and Stillman Valley. The fund is designed to award a scholarship, not less than $1,500, to one recipient from each of these four communities. Each year, committees review all of the applications that are submitted, and from this process, finalists from each school are selected for personal interviews with the review committees.

“Stillman Bank is honored to present these scholarships on behalf of the William E. Eickman Scholarship Trust.  This trust was set up to invest in promising students in our communities,” said Joseph McCoy, Stillman Bank Trust Officer.  “We know these four recipients will go on to do great things.”

Any high school senior at Byron, Oregon, Rochelle, or Stillman Valley High Schools who are interested in applying for the Eickman Scholarship is encouraged to inquire with their guidance counselor. Application forms are available from each school’s respective counseling office and must be submitted by the assigned deadline. A copy of the student’s high school transcript and proof of acceptance at an accredited college or university must be attached to the application.